Just Let Me Enjoy This Moment.

Posted: February 10, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,
I just had one of those walks home that only a Raptor fan can have.

My head was held high. My strides were a bit longer. And brief, ridiculously optimistic thoughts raced through my head:

“You know, if Bargnani comes back, we might be able to make the playoffs.”…”I really think the Raptors have turned the corner defensively.”…”Calderon will be an all-star next year, for sure.”…”A bit of time and some smart trades, and we’re in the Finals.”

When you're a Raptor fan, beating the Celtics makes you think that this is possible.

Yeah, tomorrow morning I’ll probably come back down to earth. The buzz of victory and $12 beer will wear off, and I’ll wake up, as confused as a frat boy the morning after a tailgate party, look over at my Raptors shirt hanging lazily on the back of a chair and laugh in spite of myself.

But for now, I’m going to enjoy it: Raptors 86 – Celtics 74.

Thank you, Boston.

Comments
  1. […] in the title of Dicken’s classic, there were two versions of the Raptors: the one that could excite you, and the one that frustrated you. There were two point guards: the one who knew how to defend, and […]

Leave a Reply

