A Raptor Fan Experiences TFC

Posted: April 28, 2013 in Uncategorized
Limbs were flying at my first ever MLS experience, as TFC played host to the New York Red Bulls. (photo: Vancouver Sun)

Limbs were flying at my first ever MLS experience, as TFC played host to the New York Red Bulls. (photo: Vancouver Sun)

Now that the rest of the NBA universe is wrapped up in that whole “playoffs” thing, I found myself with a lot of pent up sports energy and a free Saturday afternoon. So I figured it was high time I went and paid a visit to the team that carries the MLSE banner of failure through the summer months: Toronto FC.

And gosh darn it, it was fun.

Sure, the quality of play wasn’t quite at the level of the last live football match I’d seen (Liverpool vs. Arsenal at Anfield), but the weather was beautiful, the view of downtown was great, and the fans were pretty lively. Here’s a summary of things I learned and observed at my first TFC experience:

  • Walking around the stadium before the game, I felt really tall.
  • There is a hawk that is trained to keep seagulls away from people’s food. Its name is Bitchy. I’m not kidding.
  • BMO Field’s two on-tap beer options are Bud and Bud Light. Someone needs to be fired.
  • On the bright side, BMO Field features Smoke’s Poutinerie. If that existed at the ACC, I would weigh at least 400 pounds by now.
  • When TFC scores, fireworks erupt around the stadium. From this I learned that fireworks inside the ACC with the lights way down are far more impressive than fireworks outside at 3 o’clock in the afternoon.
  • Despite the fact that soccer teams typically have a corporate logo on their jerseys, I felt much less bombarded by advertising than I do at the ACC.
  • People were throwing toilet paper at New York’s star player, French legend Thierry Henry. This would get you tossed out of an NBA game. I think it’s awesome that there is one situation in which it is socially acceptable to throw toilet paper at a millionaire.
  • After tying the game 1-1 late in the second half, TFC imploded and gave up the winning goal with less than two minutes remaining. Heartbreak must be somewhere in MLSE’s mission statement.

In case you’ve been out of touch with the Raptor world, things have been happening. Perhaps the Maple Leafs making the playoffs for the first time in nearly a decade has lit a fire under someone’s behind…who knows?

But in the meantime, do yourself a favour and take in a game at BMO field.

Comments

Leave a Reply

